It's time to "Celebr-EIGHT" Iowa's historic women's basketball season.

The team will be hosting a public event at 6 pm Wednesday inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena in Iowa City. Doors will open at 5 pm. Admission is free.

The event has officially been deemed "Celebr-EIGHT" by Iowa athletic officials, according to a news release announcing details of the public gathering. "Celebr-EIGHT" will feature a mayoral proclamation, remarks by University of Iowa President Bruce Harreld, the Naismith Coach and Player of the Year trophy presentations, photo opportunities, interactive question and answer sessions, and more.

Led by star center Megan Gustafson, the Hawkeyes wrapped up their historic season with Iowa's first Elite Eight appearance in the NCAA Tournament since 1993. They finished the year with a 29-7 overall mark, which matched a program record for most wins in a single season. Iowa also claimed its first Big Ten Tournament title since 2001.

Gustafson finished her Iowa career as the most decorated player in school history. The senior from tiny Port Wing, Wis. (pop. 164) won the Naismith Trophy (among others) as the nation's top player while becoming only the fourth player in Division I women's basketball history to score 1,000 points in a single season.

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, which presents the Naismith Trophy, also honored Lisa Bluder as the nation's top coach. She joins C. Vivian Stringer (1993) as the only Iowa coaches to ever win the award.

More From 98.1 KHAK