The Iowa Hawkeyes are well represented with nine former players, and five former coaches, in the College Football Hall of Fame. The last induction was 10 years ago, but that could change in 2020, with three Hawkeyes on the ballot.

The 2020 ballot includes former tight end Dallas Clark, a graduate of Twin River Valley High School in north central Iowa. Here's what the Football Foundation says about Dallas:

2002 unanimous First Team All-American and winner of the Mackey Award as the nation's best tight end…Two-time All-Big Ten selection who helped Iowa to a share of the 2002 Big Ten title and its first-ever 11-win season (2002)…Holds record for longest pass reception in school history (95 yards).

Matthew Stockman, Getty Images

Tim Dwight, an electric kick returner and wide receiver who played at Iowa City High, is also on the ballot:

Two-time First Team All-American, earning consensus honors in 1997… First Team All-Big Ten who placed seventh in 1997 Heisman Trophy voting…Finished career as Big Ten's leader in punt return yardage (1,102).

Matthew Stockman, Getty Images

The third one comes as a surprise to me. Not that he's nominated, but that's he's not already in the Hall. Birmingham, Alabama native Andre Tippett, who was an incredible defensive end during his Iowa career.

1981 consensus First Team All-American who led Hawkeyes to 1982 Rose Bowl berth, its first bowl game since 1959…Two-time First Team All-Big Ten performer, leading Iowa to 1981 Big Ten championship…Holds Iowa record for TFL yardage (153 yards/20 TFL).

University of Iowa Athletic Communications

Tippett was actually inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2008, after an 11-year career with the New England Patriots that saw him appear in the Pro Bowl five straight times.

Al Messerschmidt, Getty Images

It won't be easy, with 76 former college players on this year's ballot, but Clark, Dwight, and Tippett hope to join nine former Hawkeyes already in the College Football Hall of Fame. 2020 inductions will be announced in January of 2020.

Here's when Iowa's previous Hall of Famers were inducted:

There are also five coaches in the College H.O.F. Someday, they'll be adding Kirk Ferentz to this list: