No one who plays women's college basketball at the University of Iowa will ever wear the number 10 ever again. That number will forever belong to Megan Gustafson. The school retired her number during a ceremony held at Carver-Hawkeye Arena Tuesday night.

The honor was bestowed upon Gustafson at the 'Celebr-EIGHT' ceremony. The event was held to celebrate the numerous achievements of this year's Iowa women's basketball team, including their trip to the Elite Eight in the NCAA Tournament. Gustafson was presented with a framed number 10 jersey from Iowa Athletic Director Gary Barta.

Megan becomes only the second Iowa women's basketball player in history to have her number retired. The first was Michelle "Ice" Edwards. Her number 30 was retired in 1988.

Gustafson had an outstanding senior year and career at Iowa. She finished as Iowa's all-time leading scorer and took home numerous awards and honors including the Naismith Award given to the nation's best player. She even got to visit the state capital and chat with Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds on Tuesday.

We're all proud of Megan's accomplishments! She is an all-time great Hawkeye! Gustafson will continue her career in the WNBA where she was a second-round selection by the Dallas Wings.

[via KCRG]

More From 98.1 KHAK