This year's FRYFest celebration will honor one of the greatest seasons in recent Iowa football history. Even Kirk Ferentz will tell you that 2004 was a special season.

The Iowa Hawkeye football team won the Big Ten Championship that year. And to top the year off, it ended with what some argue is the greatest play in Iowa history in the Hawkeye's bowl game. The 2004 Hawkeyes will be honored at FRYFest 2019. The announcement was made Tuesday at the UI Athletics Hall of Fame in Iowa City.

2019 marks 15 years since the Iowa football team went 10-2, including wins in all three of its trophy games. They capped the season off with a 30-25 win in the Capital One Bowl over LSU that featured an improbable ending.

Warren Holloway's catch from Drew Tate, the ONLY touchdown catch of his career, capped a magical day for Iowa and left the Hawkeyes ranked 8th in the final college football poll of the 2004 season.

FRYFest 2019 will feature a panel discussion with members of the 2004 team. Holloway is scheduled to appear along with Chad Greenway and Matt Roth. A full schedule for this year's FRYFest can be found HERE.


[via CBS2]

More From 98.1 KHAK