98.1 KHAK logo
Get our free mobile app

In the aftermath of Wednesday's powerful storm that rolled across Iowa, over half of the state has been declared a disaster area by Gov. Kim Reynolds.

Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation for 50 of Iowa's 99 counties on Thursday and Friday. The proclamation allows state resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of the severe weather.

The following counties were included in the governor's proclamation: Allamakee, Appanoose, Audubon, Bremer, Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cerro Gordo, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Davis, Emmet, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Kossuth, Lucas, Madison, Marshall, Mills, Mitchell, Monroe, Montgomery, O'Brien, Palo Alto, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Sac, Shelby, Union, Washington, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, Wright, and Worth.

As many as five tornadoes touched down across the state and straight-line winds topped 80 miles per hour in several locations. Officials received multiple reports of downed trees and structural damage. The National Weather Service (NWS) issued severe thunderstorm warnings for 97 counties as the system moved west to east across the state. An NWS meteorologist said damage was reported in all 99 counties.

The storm also caused one death in the state. According to Iowa State Patrol, an eastern Iowa semi driver was killed in Benton County when high wind gusts blew the rig off U.S. Highway 151 in Benton County.

Gov. Reynolds' disaster proclamation also activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program, which provides grants of up to $5,000 for qualifying households. The grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and temporary housing expenses.

For anyone seeking reimbursement for storm recovery-related expenses, original receipts are required. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim. To apply for a grant, CLICK HERE.

The Disaster Case Management Program addresses serious needs related to disaster-related hardship, injury, or adverse conditions with no income eligibility requirements. For information on the Disaster Case Management Program, CLICK HERE.

Residents of counties impacted by the recent severe weather are asked to report damage to help local and state officials better understand the damage sustained. To report damage to property, roads, utilities and other storm-related information, CLICK HERE.

LEGO City Home

This home is over 100 years old and has some real fun on the inside. What goofy thing would you put in your home?

Iowa Facts You Likely Never Knew

Iowa has a state with a rich history and many fun facts, How many of these did you already know? Test your Iowa knowledge!

More From 98.1 KHAK