The Big Ten Wrestling Tournament usually produces a few surprising results and 2020 was no different. Only four of the ten #1 seeds wrestled for titles on Sunday. Four undefeated wrestlers picked up a loss. But one thing did happen in New Jersey this weekend that was predicted. Iowa was crowned Big Ten Champions.

The Hawkeyes picked up their first Big Ten team title since 2010 and will enter the national tournament as favorites as well. The Hawkeyes were led by their three Big Ten Champions. Spencer Lee at 125 pounds, Pat Lugo at 141 pounds, and Alex Marinelli at 165 pounds. Spencer Lee was named Big Ten Wrestler of the Year and head coach Tom Brands was named Big Ten Coach of the Year.

Nebraska finished in second place for the team title with one finalist and 5 third-place finishes. Ohio State took third with Penn State fourth. Northwestern's Sebastian Riveria won Outstanding Wrestler of the Tournament.


[via NCAA]

More From 98.1 KHAK