Residents of the state of Iowa who are thinking about a trip to the east coast, namely to New York, New Jersey, or Connecticut, in the very near future are probably going to want to cancel it.

New York Governor Andrew Cuomo (above), along with the governors of New Jersey and Connecticut announced last week that residents of nine different states being hard hit by coronavirus would have to quarantine for two weeks when visiting any of their state(s). That number is now 16 total states and includes residents of the state of Iowa.

The 16 states are Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah, according to ABC 7 New York. The states on the list can change on a daily basis.

Anyone, from any of those states traveling to Connecticut, New Jersey, or New York has to self-quarantine for two full weeks or 14 days. Governor Cuomo announced last week that residents of states whose positive coronavirus test rate was 10 per 100,000 residents or higher or had a positive test rate of 10 percent or higher would be impacted. The numbers are considered on a seven-day rolling average, according to Cuomo in the video you can watch HERE.

In her press conference today, Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds announced the positive test rate in Iowa was just over five percent during yesterday's testing. KCCI also reports she announced that anyone who tested positive for the virus would be considered recovered after a four week period, or 28 days. The only way someone would be determined not to be recovered is if they contact a health official. Up to this point, the Iowa Department of Public Health has been reaching out to each person who had tested positive after 10 days to see if they were doing better.

LOOK: Iowa's 12 Smallest Towns That You Could Blink and Miss

More From 98.1 KHAK