The Cedar Rapids Jaycees is a volunteer community organization designed to empower students who desire to create positive change. They offer two $1,000 scholarships each year.

The applicants this year, were asked to write essays answering the question:How do you plan to create positive change in your community?"

They have compiled their list of applicants for 2019 and named their winners.

Congratulations to Katelyn Kurt and Taylor Comstock. Katelyn is from Coggon. She is currently an Iowa State University student with plans to move on to Drake Law School in the fall. Taylor is from Marion and will attend the University of Iowa, studying biochemistry.

Kudos to these very bright, passionate and talented young women with a fantastic future ahead of them. Thanks to the Cedar Rapids Jaycees for providing this opportunity to them.

The Jaycees use funds obtained through their community events to provide programs and scholarship. Your admission to events like Uptown Friday Nights is helping these students build their future.

Applications will be accepted starting in January for the 2020 scholarship. Those interested in being on the scholarship committee can attend any of the Cedar Rapids Jaycees' General Membership meetings, held on the third Tuesday and second Thursday of each month at 7 p.m. at their headquarters; 225 5th Ave SW in Cedar Rapids.

[Via Cedar Rapids Jaycees press release]

More From 98.1 KHAK