For the third straight season, and sixth overall, a member of the Iowa women's basketball team has won the Big Ten Player of the Year award. The 2019-20 winner is Iowa senior guard Kathleen Doyle.

Doyle, a native of LaGrange Park, Illinois, averaged 19.8 points and 6.3 assists per game (tops in the conference) in Big Ten play.  She scored at least 10 points in every conference game, 30-points twice, and 20 or more in seven other contests. Her regular-season total of 185 assists, is the fifth-highest in the nation.

Megan Gustafson won the Big Ten Player of the Year award in both 2017-18 and 2018-19.

A media release from the University of Iowa Sports Information Department also shows Doyle was a unanimous choice for first-team All-Big Ten by both the media and league coaches today. It's the third time she's been named to the All-Big Ten team. Sophomore Monika Czinano was also named first-team by the media. She was selected to the second-team by Big Ten coaches. Senior Makenzie Meyer was chosen second-team All-Big Ten by both with McKenna Warnock named to the coaches Big Ten All-Freshman Team.

The 19th-ranked Iowa women finished the regular season at 23-6. They open Big Ten Tournament play Friday night at approximately 8 p.m. against the winner of Thursday's Ohio State-Minnesota/Penn State game. It will be televised by Big Ten Network.

More From 98.1 KHAK