In four months, Illinois will spring forward like the rest of us into Daylight Saving Time. But they won't fall back. Yesterday, the Illinois Senate passed a bill that would make Daylight Saving Time permanent in the state.

The bill would make Daylight Saving Time the official time of Illinois as of the second Sunday in March of 2020. When Daylight Saving Time is in effect, the sun rises and sets one hour later than it normally would. Businesses have long supported the moved saying that shoppers are more likely to be out while the sun is still out.

Now that Illinois has passed its bill, the federal government still must act. Time is regulated under federal law by the Uniform Time Act of 1966. If Illinois is to join states like Arizona and Hawaii that also are under permanent Daylight Saving Time, federal legislation must be passed to exempt the state from the Uniform Time Act.

More than 35 states introduced legislation in 2019 to do away with seasonal time changes.


[via Fox2]

More From 98.1 KHAK