Is it time to call this the Iowa Award? A Hawkeye has been named Women's Big Ten Player of the Year for the fifth time in the last six years. The same Hawkeye player has won the award two different times during the run.

Congratulations to Iowa guard Caitlin Clark (#22 above), a junior from West Des Moines, on winning the conference player of the year award for the second straight season. She was the unanimous choice for POY (Player of the Year) by both the media and league coaches. Amazingly, the University of Iowa Sports Information Department says she's the 10th player to win it in back-to-back years.

This season, Clark, leads the Hawkeyes in scoring (27.2), rebounding (8.1), and assists (7.4) per game. She's one of only two Big Ten players to lead the conference in scoring in three consecutive seasons.

Clark is #1 in the nation in assists, and second nationally in scoring. She's also the only player in America who has over 750 points (790), 210 rebounds (216), 210 assists (237), and 30 steals (45). Clark also has scored 25+ points, grabbed 5+ rebounds, and dished out 5+ assists in 37 games in her career, an all-time high in NCAA women's basketball history.

Clark is the second Iowa player to win the Player of the Year Award in back-to-back seasons in the last six years. The other was Megan Gustafson in 2017-18 and 2018-19.

Here are all of the Iowa women's players who've won Big Ten Player of the Year:

  • 2022-23: Caitlin Clark
  • 2021-22: Caitlin Clark
  • 2019-20: Kathleen Doyle
  • 2018-19: Megan Gustafson
  • 2017-18: Megan Gustafson
  • 1997-98: Tangela Smith
  • 1992-93: Toni Foster
  • 1989-90: Franthea Price
  • 1987-88: Michelle Edwards
Iowa v Ohio State
Getty Images

Clark was joined on the All-Big Ten 1st Team (both coaches and media) by senior center Monika Czinano (#25 below).

Brian Ray,
Brian Ray,

Czinano was a unanimous first-team choice by the coaches. She was named First-Team All-Big Ten four straight seasons and is averaging 17.2 points and 6.5 rebounds per game this season.

First-year Iowa player Hannah Stuelke (#45 below), from Cedar Rapids Washington, was named the Big Ten's Sixth Player of the Year by league coaches and the media.

Brian Ray,
Brian Ray,

Stuelke has shot 62 percent from the field and is averaging 7.2 points and 4.3 rebounds per contest. She also has 15 steals and 4 blocks.

Senior McKenna Warnock (#14 below) was named Honorable Mention by both the coaches and the media.

Brian Ray,
Brian Ray,

Warnock is averaging 10.9 points and 5.7 rebounds per game. Warnock, who was eligible to play next season, has announced she will not be returning. Instead, she's trying to get into dental school.

Kate Martin (#20 below) received Iowa's sportsmanship award. The fiery Iowa guard has announced she'll be returning to the Hawkeyes next season, as will guard Gabbie Marshall.

Stephen Mally,
Stephen Mally,

The Big Ten Tournament begins on Wednesday. Iowa's first game will be Friday afternoon at approximately 5:30 p.m. on Big Ten Network. The Hawkeyes will play the winner of the game between 10-seed Wisconsin and 7-seed Purdue.

Best Photos From A Magical Weekend at Carver-Hawkeye Arena

On Saturday and Sunday, February 25 and 26, 2023, the Iowa men's and women's basketball teams pulled off last-second victories against Michigan State and Indiana.
On Saturday, the men became just the 4th team in college basketball history to overcome an 11-point deficit with less than 1 minute to play.
On Sunday, the #6 Iowa women defeated #2 Indiana on a 3-point shot at the buzzer by Caitlin Clark.

Most Memorable Moments of the 2022 Iowa Football Season

Iowa finished the season 8-5, including a 21-0 shutout win over Kentucky in the Music City Bowl. The 2022 season will be remembered as one that was carried by the defense while its offense struggled mightily throughout the season.

More From 98.1 KHAK