Contact Us

NASCAR changes their Championship Rules

Let’s hear your thoughts on this…..

It used to be how you did all season long determined the Points Champion in NASCAR. In 2004 NASCAR announced that they were implementing the Chase. This was done as the final race of the year wasn’t getting the attention of new fans. Point leaders were protecting their lead to win the Championship so NASCAR wanted to make this more of a playoff. One side note, the MOST EXCITING battle for the Championship was 1992 when Alan Kulwicki edged out Bill Elliot and Davey Allison for the the NASCAR Point Championship in the final race under the old format of having the most points all year long.

Now NASCAR is changing the Chase Championship points system again. In a nutshell… 16 Driver’s will make the chase for the final 10 races. After the first 3 races of the chase, 4 Driver’s will be eliminated. They will do this until the final race at Homestead and 4 Driver’s will be left for the final race. Whoever finishes highest among the four title-eligible drivers is NASCAR’s new champion. Let’s hear your thoughts on this.

Full Story here… NASCAR makes huge changes to Sprint Cup Championship format

Robert Laberge/Getty Images
Robert Laberge/Getty Images

Best of KHAK

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KHAK Country Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KHAK Country Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.